Maintenance of Certification

Periodic recertification requirements to maintain board certification.


2017 Senate Bill 1148 - Governor Greg Abbot signed the Maintenance of Certification Relief bill during the 2017 Texas legislative regular session that bans the Texas Medical Board from using maintenance of certification for receiving or renewing a medical license. It also bans hospitals and health plans from differentiating physicians solely on maintenance of certification. For more information, see TMA's Maintenance of Certification page.

What is Maintenance of Certification (MOC)?

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is a process of physician certification maintenance through one of the 24 approved medical specialty boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS)

The program for MOC activities incorporates the six ABMS/ACGME Core Competencies of Practice-based Learning and Improvement: Patient Care and Procedural Skills, Systems-based Practice, Medical Knowledge, Interpersonal and Communication Skills, and Professionalism.
The MOC program has an integrated four-part framework that addresses the following:

Part I - Professional Standing and Professionalism
Part II - Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment
Part III - Assessment of Knowledge, Skills, and Judgment
Part IV - Improvement in Medical Practice

MOC by Medical Specialties

Although the 24 Medical Specialty Boards under the American Board of Medical Specialties utilize the same principle for MOC, it is important to check the specific requirements posted under each different Board.  
  • MOC Comparison Chart  - This chart lists MOC requirements for each of the 24 specialty boards under the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and what reciprocating credits are offered if you are certified in more than one specialty.

MOC and Bridges to Excellence

What is Bridges to Excellence (BTE)? - Click for the BTE web page for detailed information on the program.

Some specialty boards have a combination program that will allow physicians to participate in the BTE Recognition program as well as receive component four MOC points.

For example:
  • The American Board of Internal Medicine has an approved BTE-Diabetes Practice Improvement Module (PIM) that will allow physicians to participate in both programs simultaneously.
  • If you have already completed the BTE Recognition process you can also submit your data to ABIM using the Self Directed or Completed Project PIM to enter the data you have already collected.