The Power of One

Highlighting HCMS physicians who have changed medicine in Texas through public policy.

Dr. Louise Bethea

Louise Bethea, MD HCMS and Texas Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society President, was a leading advocate to provide students with access to life saving epinephrine and to properly train personnel to administer the injection to those suffering a life-threatening allergic reaction.

Full Article

Dr. Robert E. Jackson

Robert E. Jackson, MD, MACP, an internist at Houston Methodist Hospital and researcher and professor at two medical colleges, realized graduate medical education (GME) needed consistent and proper funding to ensure top quality physicians remain in Texas. Texas GME funds are some of the first cut after the state suffers an economic downturn.

Full Article

Dr. Kim Monday and Dr. Ori Hampel

The maintenance of certification (MOC) is a process that requires physicians to renew their certification every 10 years. This process is not only expensive but also time consuming. In 2016, neurologist Kim Monday, MD and urologist Ori Hampel, MD, drafted separate resolutions regarding the MOC process for the TMA House of Delegates, which resulted in new Texas Medical Association (TMA) policy and new state law.

Full Article

Dr. John Bertini

Many physicians are frustrated by health plans’ misuse of prior authorizations. John Bertini, MD, was one of the HCMS physicians who stepped up to do something about it. His efforts led to Texas changes to the Utilization Review (UR) law to mandate that these reviews be performed by a Texas-licensed physician in the same or similar specialty as the physician requesting the service or procedure. The law went into effect Sept. 1. 2019.

Full Article