McGovern Award

John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award

Call for 2019 Nominations

Deadline for submissions:  Deadline extended to Friday, November 9, 2018
The John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award, established in 1993, is presented annually by the Houston Academy of Medicine in collaboration with the Harris County Medical Society, to recognize a physician whose career has been founded on the Oslerian ideals of medical excellence, humane and ethical care, commitment to medical humanities and writing, research, and harmony between the academician and medical practitioner. These characteristics were exemplified by the life of Sir William Osler, who is revered world-wide as the "Father of Modern American Medicine."

    Call for Nominations Letter from the President of the Houston Academy of Medicine   
    Award Guidelines   
    Award Criteria  

McGovern Awards Committee
Houston Academy of Medicine
Attn: Debbi Eschenbach
1515 Hermann Drive
Houston, TX 77004-7126

Or by email to:

Past Award Recipients:
1993 - Dr. John P. McGovern, for whom the award is named, founded the American Osler Society, dedicated to furthering Oslerian values. Like Dr. Osler, Dr. McGovern has dedicated his life to the harmonious union of science, the humanities, and the art of medicine, reinforcing the bridge of mutual respect between practitioner and academician.

1994 - Raymond Scalettar, MD of Washington, DC;  Internal Medicine.
1995 - Ernest W. Johnson, MD of Columbus, OH; Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.
1996 - Don W. Chapman, MD of Houston, TX; Internal Medicine/Cardiology.
1997 - Theodore E. Woodward, MD of Baltimore, MD; Internal Medicine/Epidemiology.
1998 - Charles D. Sherman, Jr., MD of Rochester, NY; Surgery/Oncology.
1999 - Michael E. DeBakey, MD of Houston, TX; Cardiovascular Surgery.
2000 - Victor A. McKusick, MD of Baltimore, MD; Medical Genetics.
2001 - W. Walter Menninger, MD of Topeka, Kansas; Psychiatry & Neurology.
2002 - Robert L. DuPont, MD of Chevy Chase, Maryland; Psychiatry.
2003 - Denton A. Cooley, MD of Houston, TX; Cardio/Thoracic Surgery.
2004 - Jack P. Strong, MD of Louisiana; Pathology.
2005 - John P. Bilezikian, MD of New York; Endocrinology.
2006 - Kathleen M. Foley, MD of New York; Neurologist.
2007 - Ralph D. Feigin, MD of Texas; Pediatrician.
2008 - Stanley H. Appel, MD of Texas; Neurology.
2009 - Richard J. O'Reilly, MD of New York; Pediatrics.
2010 - Raymond H. Kaufman, MD of Texas; Obstetrics/Gynecology Pathology.
2011 - Dev A. GnanaDev, MD of California; Trauma Surgeon.
2012 - Richard P. Wenzel, MD of Virginia; Infectious Diseases.
2013 - Walter J. Pories, MD of North Carolina; Thoracic Surgery.
2014 - Samuel L. Katz, MD of North Carolina; Pediatrics.
2015 - Allen B. Weisse, MD of New Jersey, Cardiology.
2016 - William Schaffner, MD of Tennessee, Infectious Disease.
2017 - Herbert L. Fred, MD of Houston, Texas, Internal Medicine
2018 - David K. C. Cooper, MD of Birmingham, Alabama, Surgery